Carlon Falls

May 12, 2012
Carlon Falls
Total distance:  2 miles

The unmarked trail to Carlon Falls began in the Stanislaus National Forest on the north bank of the South Fork Tuolumne River.  The trail entered Yosemite National Park through a metal maze.

The metal maze you walk through when entering Yosemite National Park.
The metal maze you walk through when entering Yosemite National Park from this trail.

I hiked alone through the shady forest on my way to Carlon Falls.  Spider webs strewn across the trail tickled my face as I broke the invisible snares.

An orb web. (Click to enlarge photo.)
An orb web.

The sandy trail bordering the river led to a private beach.

The sandy beach.
The sandy beach.

It turned away from the water then led steeply uphill along an eroded hillside, down a slippery slope and back towards the water.

A tree blocking the trail that I had to climb over.
A tree that I had to climb over because it was blocking the trail.

The closer I came to the falls, the harder it was to see a clear path.  Climbing over boulders and rocks, I forged my own way.

Making my way to the river included walking through this rocky patch.
Making my way to the river included walking through this rocky patch.

Scanning the area, I eventually found a barely visible animal trail and followed that up to the next level.  The granite near the water’s edge was smoothly polished.

A lower cascade of Carlon Falls.
A lower cascade of Carlon Falls.

Looking up, I could clearly see the trail that I missed.  Returning was much easier when walking on the correct path.

The upper most cascade of Carlon Falls.
The upper most cascade of Carlon Falls.

2 thoughts on “Carlon Falls

Leave a comment